Style:    Language:

Author Topic: resolution to play on 23' screen  (Read 737 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline caesarnapoleonis

  • Scout
  • *
  • Posts: 74
resolution to play on 23' screen
« on: August 19, 2013, 12:23:30 AM »
hello i search best settings resolution top lay on 23' screen.
i tried many but none is good.
i want not full screen option.

does anyone can advise me ?

Offline CanuckSoldier

  • Owner/Global Admin/Operator
  • Global Admin
  • Commando
  • ******
  • Posts: 6735
  • Gender: Male
    • Civilization Players Leagues
Re: resolution to play on 23' screen
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2013, 04:45:00 AM »
hello i search best settings resolution top lay on 23' screen.
i tried many but none is good.
i want not full screen option.

does anyone can advise me ?

Civ3 is incapable of running windowed.  I have found only one way around this but it is not easy or will necessarily work for everyone.  I installed MS Virtual PC 2007  http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=4580  Then installed MS Win 98SE inside it, and installed Civ3 Conquests on top of Win98.  Then you can run the MS Virtual PC in a window on your Win7/8 machine.  This does require a higher end PC with lots of memory, but it does work, including the MP networking.

CS
Owner/Global Admin/Operator
Civilization Players Leagues
www.civplayers.com

Offline caesarnapoleonis

  • Scout
  • *
  • Posts: 74
Re: resolution to play on 23' screen
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2013, 11:11:41 PM »
i talk about civ 4 dude ^^

Offline Bantams

  • Maceman
  • ******
  • Posts: 571
  • Gender: Male
Re: resolution to play on 23' screen
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2013, 08:50:28 AM »
Try 1360x768 in the driver settings for your PC and 1024x768 in the games options from the main menu set everything else  to HIGH and restart the game.

Offline CanuckSoldier

  • Owner/Global Admin/Operator
  • Global Admin
  • Commando
  • ******
  • Posts: 6735
  • Gender: Male
    • Civilization Players Leagues
Re: resolution to play on 23' screen
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2013, 12:49:00 AM »
i talk about civ 4 dude ^^

What is the native resolution of your monitor? Or what is the brand and model so I can do some research...

CS
Owner/Global Admin/Operator
Civilization Players Leagues
www.civplayers.com

Offline caesarnapoleonis

  • Scout
  • *
  • Posts: 74
Re: resolution to play on 23' screen
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2013, 02:55:03 PM »
Its a HP 2310ei.
Resolution chosen by win is 1920x1080.
Its is very good, but i am sick of such little items on the desktop for such a big screen...
I have put ON the option to make bigger items (150-200%), but it makes civ4 window too big for my screen... so it is cool for internet and other but not for playing online.

i tried bantam solution, and it looks good to me for now. tx

Offline CanuckSoldier

  • Owner/Global Admin/Operator
  • Global Admin
  • Commando
  • ******
  • Posts: 6735
  • Gender: Male
    • Civilization Players Leagues
Re: resolution to play on 23' screen
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2013, 08:26:26 PM »
Its a HP 2310ei.
Resolution chosen by win is 1920x1080.
Its is very good, but i am sick of such little items on the desktop for such a big screen...
I have put ON the option to make bigger items (150-200%), but it makes civ4 window too big for my screen... so it is cool for internet and other but not for playing online.

i tried bantam solution, and it looks good to me for now. tx

Well here are the official resolutions for your monitor

Horizontal Frequency    24 to 94 kHz

Vertical Frequency    50 to 76 Hz

Native Resolution    1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz

Preset VESA Graphic Modes (non-interlaced)
1680 X 1050 @ 60 Hz
1600 X 1200 @60 Hz
1440 X 900 @ 60 Hz
1280 X 1024 @ 60 Hz
1280 X 960 @ 60 Hz
1280 X 720 Hz @ 60 Hz
1024 X 768 @ 60 Hz
800 X 600 @ 60 Hz
720 X 400 @ 70 Hz
640 X 480 @ 60 Hz

http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/productbulletin.html#spectype=worldwide&type=html&docid=13722
Owner/Global Admin/Operator
Civilization Players Leagues
www.civplayers.com

Offline caesarnapoleonis

  • Scout
  • *
  • Posts: 74
Re: resolution to play on 23' screen
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2013, 12:17:42 PM »
Tx. Thats not perfect, but will work with this.

 

League